Featured Authors

and link to members only page

On this page we feature poems and prose written by our members that entertain, make us look at the world anew, tug at our heartstrings, smile, or simply laugh out loud.


We are featuring the winners from our 2020 prose and poetry competition where the optional theme was 'The first time I.....'


To view the pieces below click here MEMBERS ONLY -


Poetry winners: 

1st  - Love to Love by Derek Smith

2nd - Agadir by Alastair Paterson


Prose winners: 

1st  - Spare, by Susanne Barry (not available to view)

2nd - The First Time I Learned a Poem By Heart, by Marjorie Mansfield (not available to view)

Flash Fiction winner

Summer by Sue Pratt

We are also including a poem by Elaine Clarke, one of our founding members who sadly passed away in June 2020. Elaine had a poetry collection published in 2012 titled ‘I Never Liked Uneven Ground’ which included a number of previously-printed works. An autobiographical piece, ‘The Music Shop’, collected in the HW Anthology ‘The Words’, is a vivid evocation of her father’s premises in Eastbank Street, London in the 1930s and 1940s. She describes with great charm the unhurried nature of a bygone era. She will be remembered for her contributions to Harpenden Writers through her words, her unfailing good humour and her generous support towards others. 

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

For media or general enquiries

please contact


Meetings held first Friday of the month at

12 Southdown Road, Harpenden, Hertfordshire, AL5 1PD

  • Harpenden Writers Twitter
  • Harpenden Writers Facebook
  • Wordpress logo

© 2020 by Harpenden Writers Proudly created with Wix.com